I see the Bad Moon Rising… by Amanda

“I see the Bad Moon Rising…” For all my life those very words have reminded me of one thing and one thing only; Scooby Doo chase scenes. Holy Moly I loved Scooby Doo. I wanted to be a meddling kid! I wanted to catch Black Beards Ghost, The Black Knight, Miner Forty Niner and the scariest of pursuits The Headless Specter. My parents once had a scavenger hunt for my birthday and one clue was “Where Scooby Doo Lives”. I was out like a shot into the back yard, digging through an unused dog kennel and dog house. My Dad had to drag me back inside and point me to the TV. It made no sense- Why would a DOG live in a TV? It never occurred to me that Scooby wasn’t real. This world was mine and one day, so help me god I would get my team together, climb in our van and we would hunt those spooky beings.

In Toys R Us recently and I was so jealous of all there paranormally charged toys; Monster High, Jack Skelton this and that everywhere, Lego has a classic Monster set out, even the Bratz dollz have gotten a reboot to the scary side of things. Keep on looking through the aisles and find My Pet Monster, Ghostbusters and Scooby Doo…. Wait a sec. These aren’t new toys- These are my old toys! Why am I jealous?
Time for an actual and honest look at my influences of child hood; I had Count VonCount on Sesame Street, Casper the Friendly Ghost, I had My Pet Monster, The Berenstain Bears & the Spooky Tree. I was into, up, through, over, down, and out of all of these spooky themes which leads me to believe they were there for me too. I loved Ghostbusters and Betelguese, Betelguese, Betelguese! I was a kid looking into the static on TV and wondering where in fact did Carol Anne go?

Before living in Canada my brother used to get comics /annuals called Beano and Dandy. I was so jealous as I always got the lame girl versions called Trixie and Mandy. Although what I remember from those is there would always be a weird surreal story, with photographs as pictures, of a girl who moves far away and gets a surprise visit one day from her bestie, only to go home and be told she died the night before, or a girl who keeps dreaming that shes driving with her dad and gets in a horrid accident only to discover she is actually dead and cant stop reliving the horror until she finally lets go of her family. WHAT!!!

Now the mention of some of these programs & stories has aged me, but it wasn’t just my generation that was entertained by the creepy and insane. In fact it just keeps going back and back. I wasn’t the first to enjoy Scooby Doo, that ship sailed in 1969. Back when Monsters were really cool and all lived together in old dilapidated houses. (Sorry Being Human – but not exactly original). Back when Wolfmen were gnarly and looked nothing like Michael J Fox , Vampires were really old and would scoff then silently kill such sparkling schmucks as Edward “Sourpuss” Cullen. In all reality these creatures are nothing new in the entertainment world for children. Who remembers The Hilarious House of Frightenstein?

Lets keep the creepy going for our kids!  How about you?  What do you remember from childhood that would entertain & scare you?

I would say I had my fair share of creepy in my early years. I love that it spills out into my adult ones. And now “I see the Bad Moon Rising…” I got my team – its now time to invest in that van!

Leave a Reply

